Home / Science Fiction & Fantasy / Authors Like Neil Gaiman You Should Absolutely Read If You Loved Good Omens
Neil Gaiman audiobooks

Authors Like Neil Gaiman You Should Absolutely Read If You Loved Good Omens

Neil Gaiman is a prolific author who has crossed multiple genre barriers.

One of his most popular stories as of late is Good Omens, a story that has been made into an Amazon Prime mini-series starring fan-favorites David Tennant and Michael Sheen.

Good Omens is the story of an angel and a demon who work together to try and save the world. Fans of the book and the show have stated in online forums that they’re actually sad when the story/series ended, which is one of the primary signs of a well-written book.

For readers who’ve read and enjoyed Good Omens, they might be wondering what book to read next. The logical choice would be to read more Neil Gaiman books. However, those who have already read most or all his books or simply want to expand their literary horizons should check out authors like Neil Gaiman and add those authors’ books to their to-be-read (TBR) list.

What Makes Neil Gaiman a Must-Read Storyteller?

Check out Neil Gaiman on Goodreads and readers will find that that lowest rating any of Gaiman’s books receive is 3.9 out of five stars. Most of them have received over four stars. Why is Gaiman such a beloved writer?

First of all, Gaiman writes contemporary fantasy that appeals to multiple generations. Kids and adults alike can appreciate many of his stories.

Another reason is that he adds some depth to his stories by incorporating references to the likes of Shakespeare, in addition to interesting concepts taken from folklore and mythology.

Gaiman tends to create engaging characters, too – one reason why Good Omens has been so popular is due to the banter and cheekiness between the two main characters.

Finally, Gaiman is a pro at world-building—one of the reasons readers liked American Gods (which has been turned into a television series just like Good Omens).

Authors Like Neil Gaiman – Stories to Check Out for Readers Who Loved Good Omens

Neil Gaiman’s new book, The Seven Sisters, isn’t set to launch until September 2020. What should Neil Gaiman fans read in the meantime?

Here are a few authors like Neil Gaiman who deserve some love.

1. Joanne M. Harris

Harris has written multiple books that are steeped in folklore/mythology, like Chocolat and The Gospel of Loki. Besides exploring the magic of mythology, faith, and interesting superstitions, Harris focuses on the simple things in life. Her stories explore the magic and emotional connections between people, food, and personal identity. 

2. Terry Pratchett

Good Omens was co-written by Terry Pratchett, so reading anything by this author will give readers all the good feelings they get from reading Gaiman books.

In fact, readers looking for books like American Gods on Reddit will find recommendations for many of Pratchett’s books, including Small Gods.

Readers love that Pratchett’s books (made popular by his killer world-building skills) can be read alone, as well as within a series. Some series need to be read in order to appreciate the big picture. However, readers of Pratchett’s books can read book #13 in his Discworld series without reading any of the other books and not have to worry about being lost at all.

3. Diana Wynne Jones

Jones is the author of speculative fiction and had a penchant for writing fantasy that appeals to both young and old, similar to Gaiman.

A popular book of Jones’ is Dark Lord of Derkholm, a story that shows off Jones’ fantastic world-building skills, as well as her gift for parody and expressing realistic human emotions, whether her characters are human or not.

4. Douglas Adams

There’s nothing quite like British humor – another component that makes Gaiman’s books so well-liked.

Douglas Adams is another author that uses that type of dry humor to his advantage. His sense of humor can be clearly seen in Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency.

Adams’ series captures not only the humor but also the whimsy of Good Omens. Dirk Gently is the detective people go to when they’re having issues with 200-year-old ghosts. Gently believes that everything is connected (hence, the Holistic Detective Agency) and things get tangled up because of the connectivity of everything in the Universe. Of course, Gently is the person to unravel the mysteries.

5. David Wong

Another author that harnesses the gift of humor is David Wong. Take, for example, one of Wong’s most popular books: John Dies at the End. Readers know from the very first glance that this is a story like no other. They’re in for a comedic treat for sure!

Actually, they’re in for a comedy-horror story. While not many books can claim to be both a comedy and a horror story, Wong accomplishes this feat with gusto and finesse.

Honorable Mentions: Some More of the Best Authors If You Like Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman fans are always looking for the next best book to add to their reading list. To spice things up a bit, they try adding the best Neil Gaiman graphic novels into the mix. Another option is to head online to research authors like Neil Gaiman on Reddit. People on Reddit have answered the call, providing their list of authors like Mr. Gaiman.

The list below is made up of authors who bear similarity to Neil Gaiman with stories that may or may not resemble aspects of Good Omens.

  • John Connolly
  • Phillip Pullman
  • Scott Hawkins
  • China Mieville
  • Catherynne Valente
  • Kelly Link
  • Charles de Lint
  • Alan Moore
  • Clive Barker
  • David Almond.

Adding More Neil Gaiman Books to the TBR Pile

Neil Gaiman has written well over 40 books. Anyone who is a fan of his should definitely expand their horizons and check out authors who write like him. However, Gaiman has written so many well-received books that they’re definitely worth reading.

Audiobook Store provides most of the books Gaiman has released over the years, many of which he narrates himself. To get the most out of a Neil Gaiman book and get some insight into the author’s mind, add his books to your TBR list and listen to them with abandon!

Are you a huge Neil Gaiman fan? Check out our selection of Neil Gaiman books, which are guaranteed to keep you entertained during the cool winter months!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

join the audiobookstore blog

Subscribe to our mailing list To Get Your First Audiobook For Only $7.95